Set Your Heart For The Sun

img_3307London based power trio Jack J Hutchinson’s Boom Boom Brotherhood will release their debut album Set Your Heart For The Sun on 3 March 2017.

The record features 13 original tracks, recorded at Universal Studios over the last year. It includes the single ‘Love Is Gonna Bring You Home’ which recently entered the iTunes blues chart top 20 and was playlisted by BBC Radio 2.

The band consists of: Jack J Hutchinson (vocals and guitar); Rick Baxendale (bass); and Jim Brazendale (drums).

Explaining the theme of the record, Hutchinson said: “We are living in pretty dark times but music can be a great healer. A lot of the album addresses concepts of loss but also that there is light at the end of the tunnel.”

The sound of the record was very much influenced by the band’s love of classic rock. “We are obsessed with band’s like Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac, Pink Floyd. I think you can hear that in the music but we are forging our own sound.”

For Hutchinson, big catchy choruses are key. “I grew up listing to the Beatles and Stones. There’s a lot of guitar on this record but it serves the songs. I wanted to make a classic album with 13 songs that could all be singles, with melodic choruses that pack a punch.”

The record was produced by Baxendale. He said: “I wanted to capture the live energy of the band and try to push the boundaries of what we were achieving sonically. The whole album is built from getting the band to get into one another’s head space so as to be able to rock out or spin off in psychedelic abandon as one.”

Hutchinson wrote 12 of the songs including blues rock infused ‘Souled Out’ and ‘Jezebel’, and the soulful ‘Long Time Coming’. The extended psychedelic cut ‘Lone Dreamer’, featuring backwards guitar and Grateful Dead-esque sonic noises, was composed by all three members of the band.

Renowned American harmonica player Tom Brundage guests on several tracks, including the love song ‘The River Cries’ and ‘Souled Out’. There are also new recordings of live favourites ‘Wake Up’ and ‘Get It Back’.

The full tracklisting is:
Love Is Gonna Bring You Home Boom
Hey Hey Hey
Get It Back
Fight Fire With Fire
Lone Dreamer
Souled Out
Look In The Mirror
The River Cries
Loving Man
Long Time Coming
Wake Up

The band with launch the album with a special gig at the Half Moon, Putney, on 28 February. Further tour dates will be announced in due course.

For more information and interviews:
Facebook: jackjhutchinsonband
Twitter: @jackjhutchinson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s